Members In the News
January-February 2019

AIEA President Cheryl Matherly and Past Presidents William Brustein and Susan Buck Sutton presented at the IIE Summit 2019 along with members Mark Algren, Tim Barnes, Angela Bell, Rajika Bhandari, McKenna Brown, Mary Catherine Chase, Dan Davidson, Jennifer Engel, Cheryl Francisconi, Athena Fulay, Jane Gatewood, Wondwossen Gebreyes, Andrew Gordon, Gundolf Graml, Stephen Hanson, Donald Hempson, Chad Hoseth, Dale LaFleur, Rick Lee, Wesley Milner, Rick Nader, Clare Overmann, Suzanne Panferov Reese, Joanna Regulska, and Don Rubin. 

Member institutions Agnes Scott College, Lehigh University, the University of Evansville, and the University of South Florida were named among the Heiskell Award Winners at the IIE Summit 2019. 

AIEA member Rahul Choudaha was interviewed on immigration policy for the U.S. News and World Report article "Immigration Sting Could Hurt U.S. Reputation" and the PIE News article "US: Fake 'Uni' Sting Could Harm Int'l Numbers."

As detailed by the Times of India, AIEA member Jun Liu met with leaders from Panjab University to discuss Stony Brook University and PU's Joint Institute of Sustainability Development.

In an article published by CNBC-TV18, AIEA member Rahul Choudaha examined the study-abroad trends of students from India.

Choudaha was also interviewed by Business in Vancouver on the effects of the Huawei backlash on international education in British Columbia.

October-December 2018

AIEA member Rahul Choudaha was interviewed by The PIE News on international student enrollment in the United States.

AIEA board member Torian Lee was recognized by Mayor LaToya Cantrell of New Orleans and the mayor's Office of International Relations as part of the city's International Education Day event.

AIEA Members Megan Gibbons, Ricardo Castro-Salazar, Martha Johnson, Joel Gallegos, John Stauff, and Ilir Zherka are all slated to present at CIEE in November.

Members Chris Cartwright, Joseph Hoff, and Stephanie Doscher presented at the IUPI Assessment Institute, while Past President Gil Latz served as Global Learning Track Coordinator. Members Shawn Conner-Rondot and Angela Miller also attended.

At AAC&U’s 2018 Global Engagement and Spaces of Practice, Sharon Nagy led a session called “Becoming a Strategic Priority in Both Word and Deed.” Kati Csoman led a facilitated discussion called “Intentional Learning Spaces: Living and Learning Communities.”

Executive Director Darla K. Deardorff presented at the REIES 2018 Conference in Quito, Ecuador. The conference theme was Comprehensive Internationalization: Key Issues y Decisive Resources for Ecuadorian Higher Education. Around 30 institutions attended the conference at the National Polytechnic School.

July-September 2018
AIEA member institution Xavier University of Louisiana featured in recent article in Inside Higher Education on study abroad at Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs).
April-June 2018

Congratulations to the AIEA members presenting in the following conferences: 

  • NAFSA: Sara Allaei, Patricia Bello, Susan Bender, Rajika Bhandari, Thomas Bogenschild, Lucia Brajkovic, Jennifer Campbell, Robin Catmur, Amy Conger, Anne D’Angelo, Jennifer Evanuik, Jermain Griffin, Patricia Juza, George Kacenga, Kelechi Kalu, Megan Lawther, Jin Li, Kim McGrath, Angela Miller, Angelina Palumbo, Judith Pennywell, Laura Rumbley, Christina Sanchez, R. Anderson Sutton, Willis Wang, Wesley Young, Jiangyuan Zhou, Linda Angell, Shingo Ashizawa, Britta Baron, Brett Berquist, Steven Boyd, Roger Brindley, William Brustein, Ryan Buck, Jennifer Creamer, Darla Deardorff, David Di Maria, Dudley Doane, Angelle Edwards, Ivor Emmanuel, Joel Gallegos, Jane Gatewood, Amy Henry, Victoria Jones, Hilary Kahn, Ling LeBeau, Jun Liu, Jesse Lutabingwa, Mihaela Metianu, Allen Miller, Woody Pelton, Sabine Pendl, Penelope Pynes, Amy Rell, Amir Reza, Charlie Schwartz, Maria Soloeta, Jon Stauff, Brenda Tooley, Jewell Winn, Chunsheng Zhang, Pamela Barrett, Rahul Choudaha, Mike Nieto, Ben Waxman, Lindsay Addington, Cherly Delk-Le Good, Andrew Gordon, Dawn Whitehead, Ian Wright, Ilir Zherka, and Susan Sutton. 
  • The Forum on Education Abroad: Jose B. Alvarez, Anne D’Angelo, Zachary Frieders, Jason Kinnear, Patrick Morgan, John Singleton, Roger Adkins, Steve Bell, Elizabeth Brewer, Darla Deardorff, Ryan Dye, Adam Henry, Jane Kucko, Kate Patch, Penelope Pynes, Margaret Wiedenhoeft, Joan Gillespie, and Brian Whalen. 
  • Diversity Abroad: Sentwali Bakari, Stephanie Doscher, Martha Johnson, Hilary Landorf, Megan Lawther, Torian Lee, Elaine Meyer Lee, Shannon Marquez, Amir Reza, and Dawn Whitehead.
  • APAIE: Shingo Ashizawa, Katherine Belov, Brett Berquist, Eric Bullard, Thomas Buntru, Rahul Choudaha, Darla Deardorff, Simon Evans, Jane Gatewood, Bronwyn Jenkins-Deas, Nico Jooste, Douglas Proctor, Peter Mascher, Anne Pakir, Leonie Patrick, Douglas Proctor, Penelope Pynes, Joanna Regulska, Janaka Ruwanpura, Robin Sakamoto, Trine Sand, George Sipos, and Michael Wilhelm.
  • FAUBAI: Angelle Edwards and Peter Mascher. 

Congratulations to AIEA Member Rahul Choudaha on the publishing of A Third Wave of International Student Mobility: Global Competitiveness and American Higher Education by Berkeley’s Center for Studies in Higher Education.

Congratulations also to AIEA Past President Gil Latz on receiving the Global Citizen Award from Texas Tech University. 

January-March 2018

Congratulations to AIEA member institutions Babson College, Stony Brook University, Texas Tech University, and the University of Florida for receiving the 2018 NAFSA Simon Award for Comprehensive Internationalization. Congratulations also to the University of Georgia on receiving the NAFSA Senator Paul Simon Spotlight Award. 

Many congratulations to AIEA member Miriam Kazanjian on receiving the Modern Language Association/Association of Departments of Foreign Languages  "Award for Distinguished Service to the Profession."

AIEA Executive Director Darla K. Deardorff published blog in Education Weekly titled "How To Assess Global Competence."

Congratulations to AIEA members Adam Henry and Melanie Gottlieb for publishing articles in the Spring 2018 IIE Networker Magazine. 

<< first < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > last >>

Page 2 of 55