Members In the News
May 2014

May 2014

AIEA Executive Director Darla Deardorff authored an article titled Some Thoughts on Assessing Intercultural Competence for the National Institute for Learning Outcomes Assessment (NILOA) blog.

Congratulations to AIEA member Gayle Woodruff, recipient of the Marita Houlihan Award for Distinguished Contributions to the Field of International Education, and to AIEA Member Joy Stevenson, who received the  Homer Higbee Award for Distinguished Service to NAFSA. Both were recognized at the 2014 NAFSA Annual Conference this month. 

Over 50 AIEA members presented at the 2014 NAFSA Conference in San Diego, California this month!

April 2014

April 2014

The current edition of features an extended interview with AIEA member David Fleshler of Case Western Reserve University.  

AIEA member Minnie Battle Mayes quoted in The Chronicle of Higher Education article At Black Colleges, Internationalization Raises Special Concerns. 

Congratulations to the following member institutions or organizations who are finalists for GoAbroad's 2014 Innovation Awards: the University of South Carolina, the University of Texas at Austin, Global Experiences, Florida State University, Butler University, Loyola University of Chicago, Binghamton University, and ISEP. 

Why do international educators do what we do? AIEA Executive Director Dr. Darla Deardorff addresses this in an invited blog post for the Canadian Bureau for International Education: Confronting the Bigger Picture. 

AIEA Executive Director Darla Deardorff, Past President John K. Hudzik, and members John Hearn, Kevin Kinser, Madeleine F. Green, Margaret Heisel, Patti McGill Peterson, Rajika Bhandari, Thomas Buntru, and William Brustein are scheduled to present at British Council's Going Global Conference, April 29-May 1 in Miami Beach. 

AIEA Past Presidents Gilbert Merkx, William Brustein, and Susan Sutton, and members Stephen E. Hanson, Hilary Kahn, Miriam Kazanjian, Jeffrey W. Legro, Paul McVeigh, Sara West Tully, and Brian Whalen presented at the Internationalization of U.S. Education in the 21st Century: The Future of International and Foreign Language Studies Conference April 11-13 at The College of William and Mary. Session materials from Gilbert Merkx and Susan Sutton and others are available at this link. 

AIEA Past President John Hudzik and members Hans-Georg van Liempd and Patti McGill Peterson spoke at the EAIE 25th Anniversary Event in Amsterdam last month. 

AIEA member Hans de Wit mentioned AIEA in his article "A call for international education evidence" in University World News. 

March 2014

The following AIEA members presented at the APAIE Conference in Seoul, Korea March 17-20: Stephen C. Dunnett, C. K. Kwai, Hans‐Georg van Liempd, Sonny Lim, Sabine Klahr, John Hearn, Iain Watt, William I Brustein, Joanna Regulska, Thomas Downing, David Wilson, Susan Elliott, Randall Martin, Thomas Buntru, Clay Hensley, Duleep Deosthale, Gary Rhodes, Brandon Lee, and Bailian Li. 

Congratulations to the following AIEA member institutions who received 2014 Senator Paul Simon Awards for Campus Internationalization: North Carolina State University, The Ohio State University, Rutgers University, George Mason University, and University of Texas at Austin. 

AIEA President-Elect Jen Cushman featured in WHIZ news announcing her new position at Ohio University Zanesville, including a video with a short interview. 

AIEA Members Jeffrey M. Peck, Stephen E. Hanson, John Hearn, Clare Banks, and 2014 AIEA Conference presenters Hans de Wit and Katja Kurz have been published in the Spring 2014 Issue of IIENetworker

AIEA Members Raul Choudaha, Mitch LeventhalJames Holloway, and Amy Conger, have been published in issue 312 of University World News.

AIEA Executive Director Darla Deardorff,  member Patti McGill Peterson, and AIEA conference speakers Philip Altbach and Sonja Knutson have been published in the spring issue of International Higher Education.

AIEA Member Christa Olson was featured on Iowa Public Radio's River to River program on Drake University's commitment to doubling the number of students who study abroad. 

The AIEA Annual Conference and presenters and AIEA members David Di Maria and CK Kwai featured in New York Times article Helping Foreign Students Thrive on U.S. Campuses

AIEA Member and 2014 Charles Klasek Award Winner Francisco Marmolejo was featured in an interview for The Pie News.  

February 2014

AIEA President Harvey Charles and Northern Arizona University’s innovative Global Science and Engineering Program featured in Inside Higher Ed article "Internationalizing STEM.

AIEA Executive Director Darla Deardorff was featured in Duke Today speaking about the importance of intercultural teaching and learning and the upcoming Duke conference The Intercultural Learner

AIEA Members CK Kwai and David Di Maria featured in The Chronicle of Higher Education article "Campuses Focus More on Meeting International Students' Needs" for research presented at the AIEA Annual Conference. 

A conference session featuring AIEA Executive Director Darla Deardorff and Krista Jenkins was featured in the Inside Higher Ed article "Integrating International Students."

The Pie News article "AIEA event challenges concept of “internationalisation” features quotes from AIEA Executive Director Darla Deardorff, and conference presenters and attendees David Di Maria, CK Kwai, Fanta Aw, Helen Zimmerman, and Patti McGill Peterson

Preparing to Study Abroad: Learning to Cross Cultures, a book for students on cross-cultural engagement and the development of intercultural skills and awareness by AIEA Member Stephen Duke was published by Stylus Publishing.

January 2014
Congratulations to the following AIEA member institutions who received an IIE 2014 Andrew Heiskell Award for Innovation in International Education: Clemson University (Study Abroad) and the University of Michigan (International Partnerships). Congratulations also to member institutions  DePaul University, The University of British Columbia, Valencia College, and University of North Texas for receiving honorable mentions.
<< first < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > last >>

Page 9 of 55