October 2013

AIEA Executive Director Darla Deardorff was quoted in a recent article in the Chronicle for Higher Education on collaborations between international and diversity offices.

AIEA members Fanta Aw, Brett Berquist, Richard Carter, Weimin Che, Anna Ciccarelli, Stephen Connelly, Duleep Deosthale, Winnie Eley, Susan Elliott, Daniel Guhr, Debra Langton, Mitch Leventhal, and Hans-Georg van Liempd presented workshops or sessions at the 2013 AIEC Conference in Canberra, Australia earlier this month.

AIEA Immediate Past President Donna Scarboro, and AIEA Members Carl Jaramillo, Sean Manley-Casmir, and Carlos Coronado presented at the CAIE Conference in Monterrey, Mexico. 

Congratulations to the following AIEA members who were elected to  NAFSA leadership positionsArlene Jackson, Jesse L. Lutabingwa, and Kavita Pandit, Members-at Large, NAFSA Board of Directors; Rahul Choudaha, Chair of the International Education Leadership Knowledge Community; and Christina Sanchez, Chair of the Teaching, Learning, and Scholarship Knowledge Community.

AIEA Secretary Rodolfo Hernandez was quoted in an article in the UT-Dallas news article "'Profound' Effects of Semester at Sea Broaden Student's Horizons."

AIEA President Harvey Charles was a keynote speaker at the October AAC&U Conference.

AIEA Executive Director Darla Deardorff gave keynote talks at four different conferences in October, including the Intercultural Horizons Conference in Siena, Italy.